Building JUCE but failing

So let me first caveat this by saying, I’m not a coder, I’m a hardware engineer who can ‘hack code’
However I’m working with someone who is a coder and using JUCE.
I’m struggling to get the JUCE app to compile for the elkOS on the raspberry pi. I am using a virtualbox ubuntu machine to do the compiling (it just takes forever on the pi)

I’m following this guide - Build Plugins for Elk — Elk DevKit documentation

I’ve installed the elkOS dev kit, built ProJucer from the elk fork, installed the VST 24 SDK (yes agreement is in place) and I can open a test app (simple sinewave) in ProJucer and then ‘save’ it to create the make files. This where things go wrong.

I’ve followed the section under making the app for the pi and done these -

$ unset LD_LIBRARY_PATH
$ source /opt/elk/1.0/environment-setup-cortexa7t2hf-neon-vfpv4-elk-linux-gnueabi

all good…

next I do;

$ make AR=arm-elk-linux-gnueabi-ar make -jnproc CONFIG=Release CFLAGS=“-DJUCE_HEADLESS_PLUGIN_CLIENT=1” TARGET_ARCH=“-mcpu=cortex-a53 -mtune=cortex-a53 -mfpu=neon-vfpv4 -mfloat-abi=hard”

But, what I get is erors;

Package x11 was not found in the pkg-config search path.
Perhaps you should add the directory containing x11.pc' to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable No package 'x11' found Package xinerama was not found in the pkg-config search path. Perhaps you should add the directory containing xinerama.pc’
to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable
No package ‘xinerama’ found
Package xext was not found in the pkg-config search path.
Perhaps you should add the directory containing xext.pc' to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable No package 'xext' found Package webkit2gtk-4.0 was not found in the pkg-config search path. Perhaps you should add the directory containing webkit2gtk-4.0.pc’
No package ‘webkit2gtk-4.0’ found
Package gtk±x11-3.0 was not found in the pkg-config search path.
Perhaps you should add the directory containing `gtk±x11-3.0.pc’