Connect Electric Guitar?

Hi - I’m brand new to Elk and looking forward to getting started.

I have an Elk-Pi and Raspberry Pi 4 here. I am looking into creating a guitar effect app. My first and most basic question is, what’s the best and lowest-latency way to connect an electric guitar to the Elk-Pi? Do I just need to get a 1/4”-to-1/8” TS adapter and plug into the input jack on the Elk-Pi?

Hi!

Indeed analog audio input is what is expected. You will need a compatible Audio “Hat”, and you will need to connect your audio jack to that hat’s input - not to the input of your RPi4 - the RPi4 audio I/O remains unused.

The hats supported are the following: Elk supports audio hats from HiFiBerry, such as the DAC+ ADC and the DAC+ ADC Pro.

Best,
Ilias of Elk

Thank you for the prompt reply Ilias!

So I see that the inputs on the Hifiberry units are 1/8” and RCA left and right. What is the typical approach for connecting a mono guitar 1/4” TS cable to this? 1/4”-to-1/8” adapter? 1/4”-to-RCA adapter, and plug to the Left RCA input?

Thanks again.

Hi!

On the Pro I used I recall the input was the minijack - the RCA’s were the output.

Their product page confirms this: https://www.hifiberry.com/docs/data-sheets/datasheet-dac-adc-pro/

Best,
Ilias of Elk

Great, thank you Ilias.

Hello everyone,

I’ve just taken delivery of a HiFiBerry DAC+ADC Pro. I’m a bit confused as I expected the main I/O connector to be male, however it’s female. So do I connect the HiFiBerry unit to the Raspberry Pi instead of using the Elk Pi? I was under the the impression that we use the Pi, Elk-Pi, and HiFiBerry unit all together? If I’m trying to use this with guitar as mentioned earlier in this thread, does this mean I don’t actually need the Elk-Pi at all?

Hi!

I’m terribly sorry, indeed you mention that you have the Elk-Pi - if you have that you do not need the HiFiBerry - The Elk-Pi is an audio hat.