Harrison Mixbus on Elk Audio OS?

I wasn’t sure which category this post fit in. I searched and couldn’t find a topic on it already. So I apologize if this is miscategorized or redundant to an existing topic.

I am not a developer. I am interested in developing a dedicated hardware system for Harrison Mixbus32c that is highly optimized to run just that program and perhaps a couple of other software programs (such as Pianoteq and Hydrogen, either in plugin format or as the standalone native app).

I don’t need the computer to do anything else other run these programs and serve as a hub for a single or dual display (does not need to be touchscreen), a hardware digital mixer control surface, external USB DAC/ADC and perhaps an occasional USB midi controller.

How trivial and practical would it be, for example, to install Elk Audio OS onto a RPi4 with the HiFiBerry for DAC/ADC as a system dedicated to running Harrison Mixbus32c with recording/playback from an external USB drive? Or if that would be underpowered for this purpose, do the same with a System76 Meerkat + USB Audio card?

I just wanted to “look before I leap.” I have significant (but still amateur) experience with tuning vanilla distros for low latency audio (ref: https://pop-planet.info/forums/threads/pro-audio-pop.249/post-2299), but am finding that I really need to just create a dedicated hardware platform if I want any sense of reliability and maximum performance.

Thank you! This project looks very exciting and a step forward for Linux-based audio. I am hoping that it can have a positive political influence on upstream optimization of Linux OS design for low latency audio work, e.g., similar to Apple OS X circa 1999 (ref: https://www.cse.unsw.edu.au/~cs9242/10/lectures/09-OSXAudio.pdf)

Hi!

Without having used Harrison Mixbus, from what I see it is a closed source commercial DAW based on Ardour.

Given that, it is not in its current state usable with Elk OS: