Limitations of using RPi versus other hardware

Hi, looking forward, the RPi 4 supports up to 4GB RAM and has quite a decent CPU. Surely this is sufficient for not only hobbyists, but for serious product development.

At what point would the RPi become a limitation? I’m a beginner with audio development specifically, but one would think that with SD-card peripheral/disk storage (being quite fast versus mechanical drives), that one could code their DAW such that the memory limitations aren’t relevant. Would the RPi memory limitations become a bottleneck for high track count DAWs?

At 96k 24bit, each track is at least 288k of data per second. If someone had 100 tracks, that would be ~28M per second if not mistaken. (definition of M versus 1000k/1024k etc. notwithstanding). At what point is RAM isn’t a limiting factor for track count? How would plugin utilization factor into this?

As for CPU, I’d also be interested to see what are the limits of the RPi 3b/4. Most plugins out there have such extremely low CPU utilization that surely the RPi will be sufficient for many needs. But, one could imagine if they are trying to build a UA/AxeFX/Eventide style of device, that they’d likely want to look at the closed-source version of Elk targeting faster hardware?

To this end, what are the challenges with porting any Elk development done on the RPi platform to a different platform (closed source Elk, other harrdware besides RPi)? Maybe it just “works”?

Any thoughts at all are appreciated. I’m aiming to get a few kits going and start a new local makerspace around the platform – allow the younger generation to “see the light” and understand how revolutionary Elk is. Nobody knows about it currently!