LV2 Plugin Atom messages

First of all I would like to thank you for publishing such great software as open source, I am new to the Elk audio OS and starting to learn about all the great features.

I am currently exploring Sushi. I want to use an LV2 plugin (LSP impulse response mono plugin). I was able to successfully configure Sushi to run the plugin. Most of the controls are in the gRPC API. However on of the most important configurations is the Impulse Response .wav file. In a DAW this file can be set in the UI of the plugin. The LV2 plugin supports setting the filename also via an Atom LV2 Patch message. I was wondering, if sushi would support sending Atom messages to LV2 plugins?

Hi laenzi and welcome to the forums. No, there is no support for complex LV2 Atoms in sushi at the moment. Only floating point parameters are supported.
Though as serialized programs are supported over gRPC, maybe that could be a viable way to set the path to the ir file? You would have to construct the program/preset file yourself though.

Thank you very much, Gustav for your valuable response.

I have experimented a bit further with the LV2 plugin, and found a way by adding state to the to plugins manifest (the plugin supports reading LV2 state extension).

This workaround looks very feasible for now, however I would like to investigate also the program/preset change via gRPC. Is this the standard LV2 preset extension that is exposed via gRPC?

However, before digging down that route, I have another issue now with Sushi, where I am stuck: I don’t get any sound output from the plugin when using it in Sushi.

I was able to successfully run exactly the same plugin with jalv. I can see the log output with jalv, However, in Sushi, the log output from the plugin does not seem to be routed to the sushi log file. Does sushi support the LV2 logging facility http://lv2plug.in/ns/ext/log?

I am asking this, because the LV2 log output would help me debugging the issue.

Hi laenzi