Newbie question: best API to port to for running under Elk?

Hi all,

I’m a longtime C++ programmer, but a complete newbie to ELK, so forgive me if this question is very basic.

I’ve developed a simple audio-mix-engine (designed to provide low-latency matrixing/EQ/delays/etc) that currently runs under MacOS/X via CoreAudio’s low-level API (AudioDeviceCreateIOProcID(), AudioDeviceStart(), etc).

What I’d like to do is port this codebase over so that it can run under ELK, so that I can evaluate whether ELK (running on some kind of Linux/x86 box) is a reasonable alternative platform to CoreAudio-on-MacOS/X for this software, and get a feel for how ELK performs for my use case.

My question is, should I start by porting my software to use the JACK audio API? If so, should I target JACK1 or JACK2 (or does it matter?). If not, what audio API should I target instead? (ALSA? RASPA? Something else?)

Note that this software is intended to be a monolithic, take-over-the-sound-card-and-read-input-samples-and-write-output-samples, lowest-possible-latency type of affair; so while I suppose it could be implemented as a plugin, that’s not currently my intent.

Thanks,
Jeremy

Hi Jeremy and welcome to the forums.

It does sound like Elk would be a good fit to your project. Though I would suggest you to think about your reasons for not going the recommended way of implementing it as a plugin that runs in Sushi.

Elk was built as a complete package to take care of all the low level audio details, midi/cv, physical controllers and realtime/non-realtime separation of a realtime audio system - All the boring and hard parts, so that users can focus on dsp algorithms. Hence why you would write the dsp code in the form of plugin in one of a couple of common formats.